Wednesday, September 8, 2010


The "Pyramid Model of Forgiveness" was developed by Everett Worthington, a psychologist. He gives 5 steps and uses the acronym "R.E.A.CH".

R — Recall the hurt. Write it out in detail. Share it with a trusted friend or therapist.
E — Empathize with the person who hurt you. This isn't justifying it, but trying to understand why he would do the thing(s) he did.
A — Altruistic Gift of Forgiveness: You forgive the person, not because he deserves it, but because you do. It's a gift. You do not need to tell the person you forgive him. This can be between you and God. You can tell the offender if it's appropriate.
C — Commit: Commit to forgive. Write it down.
H — Hold on to forgiveness. This means reminding yourself when the hurt comes up (and it will) that you have already forgiven and you can move on.

From: Meridian (

No comments:

Post a Comment

This blog does not allow anonymous comments. Please identify yourself. Thanks!